ABOUT US

Keeping Christ In Our Minds, Bodies, And Hearts

We are dedicated to inspiring a love for learning and empowering students to reach their potential in spiritual growth, academic achievement, creativity and citizenship.

Our priority is to keep Christ in our mind, body, and heart in all that we do. Our students receive opportunities and experiences which develop their skills and talents to solve real-world problems. 

We Strive to Promote a Sense of Community that Encourages Each Child and Family to Feel Welcomed and Valued.

We believe it is our responsibility to help students become good citizens with a sense of understanding for others in the school community and throughout our world.

The enrollment for the 2019-2020 school year in grades preschool through eighth grade is 200. All employees and volunteers who have contact with students undergo thorough screening, including background checks through the Ohio Bureau of Criminal Investigation & Identification (BCI & I). For complete information on screening policies, see revised Policy for the Safety of Children in Matters of Sexual Abuse, section 1.2 (p. 3).

We Strive to Promote a Sense of Community that Encourages Each Child and Family to Feel Welcomed and Valued.

We believe it is our responsibility to help students become good citizens with a sense of understanding for others in the school community and throughout our world.

The enrollment for the 2019-2020 school year in grades preschool through eighth grade is 200. All employees and volunteers who have contact with students undergo thorough screening, including background checks through the Ohio Bureau of Criminal Investigation & Identification (BCI & I). For complete information on screening policies, see revised Policy for the Safety of Children in Matters of Sexual Abuse, section 1.2 (p. 3).

Our Mission

The mission of St. Vincent de Paul Parish School is to develop young Catholic men and women with creative minds, a sense of understanding for one another, and the ability to change the world while keeping Christ in the mind, body, and heart.

 

OUR HISTORY

St. Vincent de Paul Parish School and St. Vincent de Paul Parish are the oldest Catholic church and school in Akron.

The first St. Vincent de Paul Parish School came into existence in 1853. In 1856, a stone school house was built in the back of the church yard. The building soon became overcrowded and a new one was built.
In 1892, a red brick school was built behind the current church at 17 South Maple Street. The high school program was developed in 1907 and classes were held on the third floor of the current grade school. In 1956 the old school was torn down and within months a new one replaced it. Five religious’ communities have served St. Vincent de Paul School: Sisters of the Holy Cross, Sisters of Notre Dame, Sisters of Saint Joseph from Baden, PA, Immaculate Heart of Mary Sisters, and Sisters of Saint Dominic.

In 1974, Saint Vincent – Saint Mary High School separated from the grade school and moved across the street to its current location. A state-of-the-art Engineering Lab funded by many generous donors was built in 2015. Saint Vincent de Paul Parish School received the Ohio State STEM Designation in 2016.

St. Vincent de Paul Parish School continues to thrive. Here children from all social, ethnic and economic diversity work together in a loving, supportive, Catholic environment. The dedicated staff continue to be enriched by the generous support of devoted parishioners and parents.

Staff

Mrs. Diane Salamon: Principal

MRS. DIANE SALAMON

Principal
dsalamon@stvincentelementary.com

Mrs. Carol Roberts, Preschool

MRS. CAROL ROBERTS

Preschool
croberts@stvincentelementary.com

Miss Lucy Carson, Kindergarten

MS. LUCY CARSON

Kindergarten
carson@stvincentelementary.com

Ms. Candice Nagy, 1st Grade

MS. CANDICE NAGY

First Grade
cnagy@stvincentelementary.com

MRS. BETH CARR

Second Grade
bcarr@stvincentelementary.com

MRS. AIMEE JONES

Third Grade
ajones@stvincentelementary.com

Mrs. Gina Giffels, 4th Grade

MRS. GINA GIFFELS

Fourth Grade
ggiffels@stvincentelementary.com

Mrs. Lucy Knisley, 5th Grade

MRS. LUCY KNISLEY

Fifth Grade
lknisley@stvincentelementary.com

Mrs. Ann Fallucco, 6th Grade: English and Reading

MRS. ANN FALLUCCO

Sixth Grade: English and Reading
afallucco@stvincentelementary.com

Mrs. Mary Benzie, 7th Grade: Math and Science

MRS. MARY BENZIE

Grade 7: Math and Science
jparr@stvincentelementary.com

MISS. SARAH MERGENOV

Eighth Grade: Religion and Social Studies
smergenov@stvincentelementary.com

Miss Ashley Hunter: Intervention Specialist

MISS. ASHLEY HUNTER

Intervention Specialist
ahunter@stvincentelementary.com

Mr. Jeff Koncz: Engineering

MR. JEFF KONCZ

Engineering
jkoncz@stvincentelementary.com

Mrs. Peggy Hogan: Physical Education and Health

MRS. PEGGY HOGAN

Physical Education and Health
phogan@stvincentelementary.com

Mr. Jake Simonson: Art and Technology

MR. JAKE SIMONSON

Art and Technology
jsimonson@stvincentelementary.com

Mrs. Chelsea Craine: Music and Aide

MRS. CHELSEA CRAINE

Music and Aide ccraine@stvincentelementary.com

MRS. LIZ NEUMANN

Librarian and Religion lneumann@stvincentelementary.com
Mrs. Tiffany Simonson: Spanish

MRS. TIFFANY SIMONSON

Spanish
tsimonson@stvincentelementary.com

Support Staff

Miss Emily Klein: Preschool Aide

MISS. EMILY KLEIN

Preschool Aide
eklein@stvincentelementary.com

Mrs. Betsy Walton: Kindergarten and 1st Grade Aide

MRS. BETSY WALTON

Kindergarten and 1st Grade Aide
bwalton@stvincentelementary.com

Mrs. Becka Filko: Autism and Jon Peterson Aide

MRS. BECKA FILKO

Autism and Jon Peterson Aide bfilko@stvincentelementary.com

MRS. ANGELA HUBER

Autism and Jon Peterson Aide
ahuber@stvincentelementary.com

Mrs. Cassie Laube: Autism and Jon Peterson Aide

MRS. CASSIE LAUBE

Autism and Jon Peterson Aide claube@stvincentelementary.com
Mrs. Laurie Belair: Administrative Assistant

MRS. LAURIE BELAIR

Administrative Assistant lbelair@stvincentelementary.com
Mr. Mike Bauman: Head of Maintenance

MR. MIKE BAUMAN

Head of Maintenance
mbauman@stvincentelementary.com

Ms. Rose Wilmoth: Maintenance

MS. ROSE WILMOTH

Maintenance
rwilmoth@stvincentelementary.com

We love to meet our prospective families in person.

Our Principal, Mrs. Diane Salamon, would love to meet your family!

Close Menu